Game one of the World Series was a treat to MLB fans.
There were plenty of thrilling moments that helped lead to one of the best World Series games in recent history.
But, the bottom of the ninth inning was where things go very interesting.
With runners on second and third and two outs.
Aledmys Diaz was hit by a pitch in what would have loaded the bases.
Instead, Diaz was told he could not take his base after leaning into the pitch.
Aledmys Díaz was hit by a pitch, but the umpire ruled that he leaned into it, and it was ruled a ball instead of a HBP.
Díaz ended up making the final out. pic.twitter.com/GVksnJC5Q2
— FOX Sports: MLB (@MLBONFOX) October 29, 2022
This is a very rare occurrence in the MLB, but it does seem clear Diaz threw his elbow into the pitch.
After all the dust settled, Diaz grounded out to third base to end the game.
It was a bold call by the umpire but it seemed to be the correct one.
Fans around baseball were crushing Diaz for this move.
Aledmys Diaz trying to get on base 😂 pic.twitter.com/7X9wOmDV3q
— RosettaStoned (@realjstar32) October 29, 2022
— Dillon Atkinson (@DillonTAtkinson) October 29, 2022
Aledmys Diaz saying he didn’t lean into that pitch is hilarious it was so obvious
— Tooner (@Tooner02005729) October 29, 2022
The umpire caught Aledmys Diaz cheating by leaning into a pitch.
The right call was made.
Astros can’t bend the rules anymore, smh.
— Joe Randazzo (@Yankeelibrarian) October 29, 2022
One interesting thing was that Diaz did not start the game.
He came off the bench as a pinch-hitter, even though he did not look interested to hit.
As a whole, Houston could not get anything going against the Phillies’ bullpen.
They scored all of their runs against starter, Aaron Nola, then only collected four hits off their bullpen.
Game two should be another thriller with two great pitchers taking the mound.
The Phillies are playing with an extreme amount of confidence and all the pressure is on Houston in game two.