If you are trying to avoid pork or other meats when you dine at takeout restaurants, you may be learning about the different food options at each one and what ones contain meat products.
If you are going to eat at Popeyes, you may have your heart and your tastebuds set on enjoying mashed potatoes.
Make sure you know what is in these mashed potatoes before you order them, so you can avoid pork whether you choose not to eat simply pork or you are vegetarian.
Does Popeyes Mashed Potatoes Have Pork?
Popeyes mashed potatoes are not made with pork.
They are made with a mixture of potatoes, milk, butter, cream of celery soup, and spices.
There are no meat products in the potatoes alone.
Popeyes does, however, serve their mashed potatoes with gravy.
The gravy recipe does contain both pork and chicken, meaning it is not a vegetarian option.
The mashed potatoes do come with the gravy when you order them, and if you would prefer not to have any gravy on your mashed potatoes, you will have to specify this when you order.
Do not assume that your mashed potatoes will come plain because they will be served with gravy unless you speak up and request them plain.
Does Popeyes Gravy Have Pork?
Popeyes gravy does contain pork.
Most types of gravy are meat-based.
They use the meat to help add flavor to the gravy and a special texture.
Popeyes happens to use a mixture of chicken and pork to give their Cajun gravy its signature flavor and texture.
Unfortunately, this means that gravy is not a good option for anyone who is planning to eat vegetarian while visiting Popeyes.
The gravy is not sold as an individual dish, but it is added to the mashed potatoes.
You can still enjoy the mashed potatoes without worrying about eating meat by ordering them without the gravy or ordering the gravy on the side, so those who are with you may eat it if they choose.
Popeyes mashed potatoes do not contain any meat without gravy on them.
Does Popeyes Add Gravy To Their Rice?
Popeyes does not add any gravy to their rice.
However, the rice on its own is still not a vegetarian side dish.
Popeyes serves Cajun rice, which is a dish that resembles a rice casserole.
It has plenty of spices as well as ground meat, including beef and chicken.
This means that even though Popeyes does not add gravy to the rice, it does have meat and is not a vegetarian dish.
Are Popeyes Mashed Potatoes Vegetarian?
Popeyes mashed potatoes are vegetarian because they do not contain any meat.
If you add the gravy to the mashed potatoes, they are no longer vegetarian because the gravy is made of chicken and pork products.
Even without the gravy, Popeyes mashed potatoes are not considered to be vegan since they are made with cream, milk, and butter, which are dairy products that come from animals.
So, even though the mashed potatoes do not contain meat, they do contain animal products.
What Are The Ingredients In Popeyes Mashed Potatoes?
Popeyes mashed potatoes are made with a simple recipe that gives them a creamy texture and sultry flavor.
You will find that Popeyes’ mashed potatoes are very similar to potato recipes you find at other fast-food restaurants or that you might even make at home on your own.
The ingredients found in Popeyes mashed potatoes include:
- Cream of celery soup
What Are The Ingredients In Popeyes Gravy?
Popeyes gravy is made with many of the basic ingredients of all gravies.
They do add chicken and pork to the gravy to give it its signature flavor and hearty thickness.
You will also find plenty of spices.
If you have a food allergy, it’s a good idea to know what ingredients are added to the gravy.
Knowing the ingredients can also help you avoid certain foods that may contain ingredients you don’t want to eat.
Popeyes gravy is made with the following ingredients:
- Beef Broth
- Ground Black Pepper
- All-Purpose Flour
- Onion Powder
- Granulated Sugar
- Cayenne Pepper
- Garlic Powder
- White Vinegar
Does Popeyes Mashed Potatoes Come With Gravy?
Yes, Popeyes mashed potatoes do come with gravy.
If you place an order for the mashed potatoes, you should expect to have gravy on them.
Some employees may ask if you want the gravy, but most will just assume that you want it and add it unless you say otherwise.
If you do not want the gravy on the mashed potatoes, you will have to make this clear at the time of your order.
You can also ask that they put the gravy on the side if you think someone else in your family or someone else who is dining with you may want the gravy to add to their food.
Can Your Order Popeyes Mashed Potatoes Without Gravy?
You can definitely order Popeyes mashed potatoes without gravy.
If you happen to love mashed potatoes but can’t eat the gravy because it contains traces of pork and chicken, you can simply order the mashed potatoes without the gravy.
When you place your order, make sure you say you do not want to add gravy.
It shouldn’t be an issue for the people preparing the food to leave off the gravy.
If there is someone in your family who would like to eat the gravy that you don’t want, you can also order it on the side instead.
It will come in a different container, and it can be shared with other people who may enjoy eating it.
Does Popeyes Have Any Vegetarian Food Options?
Being a vegetarian and finding fast-food restaurants that have enough options to make you happy can be difficult.
While Popeyes is all about serving chicken, there are also many items on their menu that are vegetarian and do not contain meat.
While most of these items are considered side dishes and come in smaller portions than the meat dishes, you can still order them and make a meal out of them, so you can leave Popeyes satisfied even if you don’t order any type of meat.
1. Cajun Fries
If you love the crispness of a fry and want to enjoy something vegetarian at Popeyes, try the Cajun fries.
They are made of potatoes and spices that will give you some slight heat and plenty of flavor.
If you are someone who finds vegetarian foods bland or gets tired of eating the same things all the time, this can be a nice way to switch things up and enjoy some new flavor options.
2. Mashed Potatoes (No Gravy)
If you can’t help but love Popeyes mashed potatoes but are trying to live a vegetarian lifestyle, you can still enjoy them, but you will have to leave off the gravy.
While mashed potatoes are a good vegetarian option that does not contain any meat, the gravy is made with pork and chicken, which means it does have traces of meat in it.
So, if you don’t want to eat any meat during your trip to Popeyes, you will have to ask them to serve your mashed potatoes without the gravy.
Coleslaw is a healthy option to consider, and it’s not made with meat.
Coleslaw is served as a side dish at most Popeyes restaurants, and it only contains cabbage, carrots, and the dressing that creates the sauce.
While some people may argue that coleslaw is no healthier than any of the fried options available on the menu, if you are trying to avoid eating meat, this option is one to consider.
Popeyes is known for having delicious, soft, flaky biscuits, and luckily for vegetarians, they contain no meat.
While you may be tempted to add some chicken to your flaky biscuit, if you are trying to avoid foods with meat in them while eating at Popeyes, you won’t want to pass up on these biscuits that are flavorful and hearth enough to keep you full if you can’t indulge on chicken or other meats at the restaurant.
5. Mac And Cheese
Macaroni and cheese is the ultimate comfort food, and if you are looking for something to eat that is delicious but also doesn’t contain meat, you might want to try Popeyes macaroni and cheese.
It’s melty, gooey, cheesy, and contains just enough salt to make it appeal to everyone’s taste buds.
You won’t even miss eating meat when you enjoy this tasty side dish that doesn’t have to be eaten with other foods and is perfectly fine to enjoy as the main dish instead of meat.
6. Cinnamon Apple Pie
There are plenty of vegetarian-friendly desserts, and at Popeyes, you won’t want to miss out on the cinnamon apple pie.
This tasty dessert is made with a flaky, buttery crust that melts in your mouth.
It is packed full of gooey cinnamon apples.
If you are missing a hearty texture, apples may help with your cravings and allow you to avoid meat products by finding other things you enjoy.
7. Chocolate Chip Cookie
You can’t go wrong with a chocolate chip cookie, and Popeyes makes a delicious one.
You may be upset that you can’t enjoy the full menu at Popeyes if you are a vegetarian, but you can still enjoy the tasty warmth of a chocolate chip cookie.
Order them fresh to enjoy them warm.
As you tear into one, you will notice the morsels of melty chocolate dissolve in your mouth and leave behind a sweet flavor that lingers on your tongue and soothes your sweet tooth.
Is Popeyes A Good Restaurant For Vegetarians?
Popeyes is known for making delicious chicken and foods that are fried.
If you do not eat a lot of meat or are trying to be vegetarian, you may not find a lot of food options on the Popeyes menu that do not contain meat.
There are many side dishes that do not contain meat and are a great option for anyone trying to stay vegetarian.
If you are eating with people who do eat meat, you may find yourself at Popeyes.
There are plenty of non-meat options, but you may have to get creative and find ways to order these dishes without gravy or other additives that may contain meat.
If you are living a vegan lifestyle, Popeyes may not be a good option.
Even though there are foods on the menu that do not contain meat, many of them are still made with animal products such as eggs, milk, butter, and cheese.
Foods are also fried in grease that may contain animal fat.
Depending on how strict you are, you may or may not find Popeyes a good option for vegetarian dining.
Does Popeyes Serve Pork?
While Popeyes does use pork as a base for their gravy and to flavor some other food items, they do not sell pork on the menu as an item that can be ordered alone.
You cannot order pork as a main dish on the menu at Popeyes.
Popeyes is best known for serving chicken dishes.
You can order chicken in a variety of ways, and it will either be grilled or fried.
Popeyes does also offer some shrimp dishes if you prefer meat other than chicken or are looking for something with a lighter flavor and a texture.
Does Popeyes Serve Seafood?
Popeyes does not serve seafood regularly.
It does, however, serve shrimp as a regular item on the menu.
The popcorn shrimp is fried and sold alongside the chicken.
You can order the fried shrimp basket with French fries or other side dishes, and it can be found on the menu as a basket or combo meal.
Is Seafood Considered Vegetarian?
Most vegetarians do not eat any meat or animals that were once living.
Some people do avoid all meats other than seafood, but they do not usually consider themselves vegetarians.
Fish and other types of seafood were once living animals, and although they may be processed differently than livestock and other animals that are commonly butchered for meat, they are still living animals and are not considered part of a vegetarian diet.NEXT: How Much Can Superman Lift? (Explained)